Adobe InDesign

For last week’s ISHE lecture, we learned how to use the publishing software application called Adobe InDesign. Adobe InDesign is an application produced by Adobe Systems, which can be used to create multiple page documents such as newspapers, magazines, books, posters, flyers, etc. Similar to Adobe Photoshop, I have never used this professional software program before. compared to Adobe Photoshop, which is more for image editing purposes, InDesign gives you more control and enables you to work more in depth with text and adding or removing pictures for more than one layer publications. I am going to list the most important steps one needs to make yourself familiar with Adobe InDesign.

Margins: when preparing and designing a document, you have to consider your margins before anything. You can set it up through this window that opens up when opening InDesign (image below).

InDesignpic
You can set up your margins by selecting the correct setting for your chosen publication when this window pops up

Image Formats: InDesign supports many image formats, most importantly JPEG and PDF. If you print or export your file, you must make sure the images are saved in the correct format.

Text- and image frames: to insert both text and image, you will have to create a shape for your preferred text frame. As with any software, you can either type your own text or import your content by ‘copy and paste’. Simply use this shortcut to import any text/image: Apple (command) + D. The same explanation goes for importing images: create the frame and place your chosen image inside it.

InDesignpic2
This is your tool bar, which shows you the text + image frame you can select to create a shape

Being taught these skills has definitely made me feel more confident using this software programme. I feel like it has given me a head start to other journalists who do are not familiar with this software.  Although it was a workshop for just two days, it has given me more knowledge and increased my set of skills for the future. In one session, we managed to get up a publication, talking about myself and posting some pictures. Personally, I found it to be relatively easy to use. It could be set up very easily and quickly, without any hassle. However, I must mention that I had prepared my text to insert in the document, but it was too little to fill up the whole box. We were a little rushed at the end, which is why I have not been able to add text to it and give it a second read. Therefore, the document may contain some small mistakes. My file is posted below, in this blog post. What I would do differently next time, would be to prepare more text and have all the pictures I would like to use all ready, so that I would have more time to read through it and make sure it would make sense to the reader. Also, I wish next time we would have some more time to work on our publication. However, we were told that the content and quality of the images did not matter as it was more about experimenting with the application and to put our new learned skills to use, which I think I have certainly achieved to do. I do think that I think that the skills I have developed with Adobe Photoshop and Indesign have certainly added to making my final journalistic product/report a very professional one, of high standards. I am looking forward to use Adobe InDesign in the future and enhance my knowledge on this software programme.

Nora_Asad_BA1_20142 (my InDesign report)

Leave a Reply

